Halloween Plans 2016

by longtallyarn

Halloween is coming up and we get a Halloween costume catalog every fall.  This year and last, the twins seized the book with excitement, to see what they could become.  I’m not a huge fan of the dark holiday, but to my 4-year-olds, it’s not about celebrating the dark.  It’s about seeing who or what they can become.  I suppose that’s an idea they celebrate every day at this phase…

Last week, the twins enjoyed making a child sized jet pack prototype with their dad.  I think someone might be planning to dress as Buzz Lightyear for Halloween.  My spouse made the flying machine out of cardboard and duct tape and sketched a few buttons and a screen on the front with chalk.  On the back he sketched on the rocket boosters.  The wearer can manually fold in the wings to pass through doorways, etc.  When released, the wings spring back into position with all the force of folded cardboard.  I saw Twin A struggling to hold the wings in with his elbows so he could release them at the exact moment he pushed the “wings” button.

When I arrived home from work, the boys they were taking turns wearing the costume around the house.  They were having too much fun to eat dinner, so I sat down for my meal alone and listened to their conversation in the living room.

“Quit pushing that button or I’m going to go flying up there and bust through the roof!”

More fussing and a little scuffle.

And then came a tattle that I have never heard before.

“Mom, he’s pushing the wings button and the jet propulsion button at the same time and I keep flying up and hitting my head on the ceiling.”

“Be careful guys.  I don’t want anyone to get hurt or damage the ceiling!”

