Carroty Vegetable Soup

by longtallyarn

This morning I am off for Veterans’ Day.  I awoke to baby noises and while the twins were playing together in the crib I made my way to the kitchen to prepare some soup.  They are still nursing and almost 2 months ago they started eating soft vegetables and (preferentially) fruits.  We have followed the plan suggested by our baby instructional manual, What to Expect the First Year, and introduced one food at a time.   Serving bananas for a couple days before introducing peas, etc.  This will allow us to see if they have any food sensitivities.  So far the only difficulties we have noticed have come, I suspect, from eating too much banana of one thing.

Today I introduced them to vegetable soup.  I cannot imagine serving babies tomato for three days to see how it agrees with them.  Same with onions, peppers, garlic, and other flavorful foods enjoyed by my husband and me.  So I decided they should just jump in and try a few new things in a “soup.”  I went with leeks rather than onions because of their lighter flavor.  I decided to allow the garlic clove to impart its flavor and then remove it.  The tomato was light in quantity because I didn’t want to overwhelm them.  I used fresh tomato instead of canned because I wanted to keep the sodium low.  I used more than one carrot because they already know and love them.

My recipe received good reviews at its debut.  I tasted a bite and the vegetable blend was slightly sweet because of the carrot.  The members of the onion family lent complexity.  It’s the most complex blend the babies have tried, for sure, with more than two foods mixed.  Oso tried it and said I should fix some for us, too!

Twin A ate a few bites and decided he wasn’t that hungry but Twin B really seemed to like it.  This is how most foods debut.  Nobody spit it out.  I know vegetable soup for breakfast isn’t an American tradition but they don’t eat eggs yet.

Here is the recipe I came up with:

2 carrots

1 small tater

1/2 tomato

1 1/2 inches of leek

1/2 garlic clove

1/2 cup water, approx.

Finely chop the first four ingredients.  Boil with the garlic until all are soft.  Remove the garlic.  Steam off any water that has not been consumed by the cooking process.  Mash thoroughly with a fork and let cool.  Serve slightly warm.

